Monday, October 29, 2007

Catching up




Ok, so it is obvious by now that I really suck at remembering to sit down and post stuff. In my defense I've been working 55 hr weeks since the end of July. Kinda hard to get everything done on only one day off per week!


So, let me recap at least some of what has been going on with me since I last posted in July (YIKES!!). I started class in August. I'm taking Geology to get my lab science requirement out of the way. I mostly like the class but there are a few things that I wish were better... Oh well! Next semester I'm going to get my Computer and Social Science requirements out of the way by taking Info Processing Systems (basically a class on using Office) and Geography. Hopefully neither one will be to intensive since tax season is fast approaching.


The local Celiac chapter has had a couple meetings. Since I'm the secretary I knida have to go...Most of the time I like it just for the opportunity to try different gluten-free foods! At one of the meetings, one of the ladies had just returned from a conference in Denver that is called a food summit...Evidently it's all sorts of chefs, etc and you get to try lots of food and get lots of free samples. It sounded really neat so I'm going to try to go next year. I'm even going to drag along a friend and one of my cousins with me. When I have more details I'll post a link. The food is good enough even normals like it! ;)


Let's see... What else? Well, I had my first mammogram on Friday. There's a history in my family plus I have increased risk because of other things so my doctor wanted to go ahead and get a baseline... It wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. And I'd rather go thru that than end up with undetected breast cancer. I haven't told my dad about it since it's just the baseline screening.


Oh yeah! Other medical news. In July I found out that I have a Vitamin D deficiency. The normal range is between 32 and 100. I was at 12! So my endocrinologist put me on 50,000 units of Vitamin D twice a week (100,000/week). I had another blood test a couple weeks ago and I'm up to 51. Yay! So now I get to reduce my dosage and only take one pill a week. Turns out all my fatigue and muscle weakness was caused by the lack of Vitamin D.


I've been watching some of the new shows this season. A couple I'm still deciding on, a couple I like, and some I like but I don't mind missing...


Still deciding:

Moonlight

Journeyman


Like:

Bionic Woman

Reaper

Torchwood (on BBC America)


Like but don't mind missing:

Gossip Girl

Chuck


Favorites that returned:

Heroes

Bones

Smallville

Supernatural

Ghost Whisperer


I now have digital cable with DVR and I love it! Through On Demand I was able to watch the first season of Dexter on Showtime and now I'm hooked! The second season has started and I watch every week... It's definitely one of those shows you get hypnotized by...Especially if you don't mind dark comedy.


Oh! I got my kitten. Her name is Saucy and she's almost 5 months now. She gets spayed and declawed this month... Those are the pictures you see...


What I'm recording tonight: Chuck, Heroes, Journeyman

Book I'm reading: Howl at the Moon by Christine Warren

What's in my DVD player? Doctor Who Series 2 Disc 5

Question of the day: What new shows are you watching?

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

Maintenace

The maintenance people came back today. He got there while I was in the shower. Of course! Luckily I figured something like that would happen (being my luck) so before I took my shower I unchained the front door and I made sure the bathroom door was shut and locked and I took my robe in the bathroom with me.

This is just the way things happen...It was funny though. The guy came and left to go get something before I was dressed. So when he came back he was all embarassed that he hadn't knocked. He hadn't even realized I was in the house the first time he was there! But he fixed the pipe so that it no longer leaks. And I was able to leave the door chained since he had already come and gone. Yay! Now all I have to do is get through the rest of my workday and I get my 5 day weekend. Woo-Hoo!

Talk to you later!

Question of the day: Has maintenance (or anyone else) ever walked in on you when you were in the shower?

I used to work for a property management company and some of the properties we managed were being sold. So I was taking the buyer around so he could inspect the properties. Well, at one of the places he walked in on one of the residents in her bathroom. She had just gotten out of the shower. He was so embarrassed. Both residents (the woman and her boyfriend) thought it was funny. But the buyer turned so red! I was laughing my ass off!

Book I'm reading: After Glow by Jayne Castle
What I'm recording tonight: Nothing
Next in my DVD player: Ghost Rider (same as yesterday)

Monday, July 2, 2007

5 day weekend and other misc ramblings

Woo Hoo! I only have to work 2 days this week. I have a 5 DAY WEEKEND! Yay!!!! I'm really looking forward to the time off. 3 days of paid time off without using any of my personal PTO. It's always great to be lazy on the company dime! ;)

A couple weeks ago my work made me upgrade to Windows Vista. So far so good. I've had a couple problems but they've been resolved. Most were caused by programs we use here not being fully compatible yet. By default I'm doing a lot of beta testing both for my company's products and the products we use (our network, etc...) I've been pleasantly surprised so far. Here's hoping it will stay that way. Before I upgraded I'd heard some bad things but I'm reserving judgement for now.

I called my landlord Saturday to report my sump pump pipe leaking. My sump pump works, but the pipe leaks which results in about half the water that it pumps ending up on my basement floor. Luckily, the room with the pump in it is plain cement so it's not ruining any carpet. My landlord is not the best about fixing things quickly...or even at all sometimes. So, of course, the one time they work quickly, I forgot to leave the chain off the front door. Isn't that always the way it works. They couldn't get in and I got a phone call...Now I have to remember to leave the door unchained tomorrow and hopefully they'll be able to come back out. I don't like leaving it unchained, and I don't really like them being there without me. I guess I don't really have much of a choice this time. I'll probably end up going home on lunch to check on the house...Tonight I'll leave them a note explaining what I'm talking about. Hopefully they'll get it fixed.

I went to go see my kitten yesterday. One of these times I'll remember to take a picture... She is now 2 weeks old and her eyes are open. She's so cute! She's a calico that I have decided to name Sascha. I will be calling her Saucy. She should be ready to come home around mid-August. Then the fun really begins. I get to introduce Saucy to Bogie. It'll be okay after they get adjusted but I'm sure it will be interesting until then.

I found out Saturday night that my aunt and uncle from PA will be in town starting tomorrow night. It will be nice to see them. The last time they were in town was 4 or 5 years ago. They'll be here about a week, so I'm happy about that.

I also got the result of one of my blood tests. Evidently, I'm very vitamin D deficient. I have another Dr appt next week and he'll probably start me on supplements. Guess we'll see how it goes. Ok, I guess that's it for now.

Question of the day: What are your plans over the 4th? The only plans I have are for Sunday. Food at my place and then some friends and I are going to go see Transformers. It looks good. Hopefully we won't be disappointed.

The book I'm reading: After Dark by Jayne Castle
What I'm recording tonight: Kyle XY
What's next in my DVD stack: Ghost Rider (yes I've seen it before)

Monday, June 25, 2007

I'm alive!

Wow! It's been a really long time since I've posted. I haven't really been doing all that much. I've been enjoying my weekends off while they last. A friend's cat had kittens, so when they are old enough I get one! Yay! I've missed having a cat.

Right now my fingers hurts. I mowed the lawn this morning and after I was done I was pulling weeds from along the side of the house...Well some of the weeds had stickers. Not fun. Luckily I was wearing gloves so it wasn't as bad as it could have been. I guess whoever lived in the house before me never used a weed wacker, cause some of the weeds I pulled were actually growing up underneath my siding.

This was the first chance I've had to do the trim this year and now I'm glad I did. This weekend I'm going to spray the house for bugs (inside then outside). When I got rid of the weeds I also got rid of the hiding places for a lot of bugs. And I really don't want them to make their way inside. Unfortunately I'm out of bug spray and won't have time to get more until this weekend. What I'm actually going to do is spray for bugs and then spray weed and grass killer all along the side of the house. Then I'll use the rake (another find this weekend - Thanks Rhonda!) to create a buffer area where nothing grows. Hopefully that will prevent problems like weeds growing into my house. Plus it will allow me to not have to weed wack as often. I am so not a gardening or yard work person...But it just didn't look good so I have to do it.

I finally got notification that my tuition reimbursement for the fall semester was approved...So I'll be taking a class in the fall, and I should get my reimbursement in time to pay for winter classes...So that will be cool...Unless I up my class load I will be paying for all my classes with my reimbursement. Nothing out of pocket. My company even reimburses for books and lab fees!

OK, I guess that's it for now. As soon as I have pictures of the kitten I'll post them. Now I just have to come up with a name!

Question for the day: How do you choose your pet's name?

Book I'm reading: The Barbed Rose by Gail Dayton
What I'm Recording Tonight: Kyle XY
What's next in my DVD player: Gilmore Girls Season 2 Disc 3.

Saturday, May 26, 2007

Rest and Relaxation

Well, let's see... What do I want to say? This past week has been my vacation which has been wonderful! I've gotten to sleep in almost everyday, go to bed whenever I want, watch a lot of movies (gotta love Netflix and Blockbuster!) and read. Bogie has liked having me home too. If I'm home he's on my lap or at my heels...He'll be sad when I go back to work.

May 11-19 was the Riverfest, Dad and I volunteered. This was our second year volunteering and we enjoy it. I'm a people watcher so I like being able to watch the crowds without necessarily having to be part of them. It works out, plus it lets us spend time together. Speaking of, my Dad was staying with me the last 2 weeks. I love my Dad but by the end of his time with me I was ready for him to go. It reminds me why I'm glad he lives 45 mins away...

In my last blog I mentioned that 6 books I want are coming out on June 5...well I went ahead and arranged to have June 6 off. I know, it's kinda sad but I know myself well enough to know that after work on the 5th I'm going to go get the books. Then, I'll come home and be up reading until 3 or 4 in the morning...And then, if I went to work I would spend the entire day wanting to be at home reading...So, it's much more efficient for me to just take the day off...Cause I gotta say, if I did work the 6th, I probably wouldn't get much done!

I had my first massage on Wednesday. My boss gave me a certificate for a back and shoulder massage for Christmas. I figured since this was my vacation week it would be a good time to use it. Besides, it expires at the end of June...Anyway, I loved it! Afterword my back and shoulders were completely pain free and relaxed for the first time in who knows how long! Now I'll probably end up going back for a full body massage...I sit at a computer most of the day and even after I get home at times...So I think I deserve it...Maybe;)

One of the movies I watched this past week was Dreamgirls. Such a good movie! And I loved the soundtrack so much I went out and bought it!

Question of the day: What's your favorite thing about vacation?

Book I'm reading: Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice Davidson (I've read the entire series before - I even own it. But this past week I've actually been reading it again since the next one comes out on...you guessed it, June 5! Weirdly tho, I started with the last one and have been going backwards this past week...)

What I recorded tonight: Nothing! Saturdays don't offer much for me. Besides must of the shows have ended for the season so I have to wait for the next round. Which should be in a couple weeks. I so love that there is a summer season now! New episodes almost year round. No more only being able to watch repeats during the summer. Sure some of my shows goes in to repeats, but others are only fresh during the summer season...

Hmmm, I wonder if I'm a little too obsessed with TV and books...Nah! No such thing!

Thursday, May 17, 2007

News and Stuff

So I got the results of my CT Scan...The cyst isn't there on the CT...Which is good but it still leaves me not knowing what is causing my symptoms...Looks like more tests in store for me. And it looks like it's a good thing I didn't tell Dad about the cyst. He would've been worried for nothing.

My cousins are in town from Michigan. Originally they were going to stay for 2 weeks, then it changed to 1 week, now it's down to 3 days. This sucks! I really wanted to be able to spend time with them. But it looks like I'll only have 1 full day. The others I have to work at least part of the day. Oh well, at least I'll get to see them some. It's better than nothing.

So, as of 2p tomorrow I am off work until the 29th. I can't wait! I am so looking forward to vegging out. Watch TV, read, listen to music...and the best of all...SLEEP IN! YAY!!!!!!! I'm going to love it.

I'm also anxiously awaiting June 5. There are like 6 books coming out that I want...It's sad but yes, I do know when books are coming out and I go get them that day...I am that addicted. I would try to find the local Book-a-holics Anonymous but, I don't want to break my addiction...

And really, isn't being addicted to books a lot better than some of the other things I could be addicted to?

OMG! Did you hear?! They cancelled Veronica Mars! I'm so not happy! They cancelled Gilmore Girls and Veronica Mars...What am I going to watch on Tuesday nights? Some of the shows for next fall look pretty good...and some look really stupid. Guess we'll see which is which in the fall. I am looking forward to 2 of the new series...Bionic Woman and The Sarah Connor Chronicles, both look interesting. I'm also happy they renewed some of my favorites: Heroes, Bones, Smallville, Supernatural, and Ghost Whisperer. Wow! With Gilmore Girls and Veronica Mars gone my only non-scifi type show will be Bones. Unless something else starts up that I like...

Kyle XY starts it's new season June 11. So that's something to look forward to. And Eureka starts back up again in July...

Yes, I do love the internet. I gotta keep up on the TV schedules...;)

Question of the day: What's your addiction?

Book I am reading: What's a Ghoul to do? by Victoria Laurie
What I recorded on TV tonight: Smallville and Supernatural

Friday, April 27, 2007

News

Well, I got the results of my MRI today. I have a small cyst in/on my brain. The doctor says it is not the cause of my symptoms but he wants to do a CT scan. So I get to do that on May 11. I won't know what needs to happen with the cyst until after the CT scan. So I have 2 weeks before I know anything. Not exactly reassuring. In all likelihood the doctor will most likely end up wanting to keep an eye on it. Do another MRI or CT scan in a few months and see if it's grown at that point. Still, I have something in my brain that isn't supposed to be there. Never a good thing. I'm not going to tell my Dad until I know more. He would just get freaked out over something that may be nothing. At least that's what I think I should do. I know myself, if I tell him and he starts to worry it will just make me worry even more...

Evidently I'm prone to cysts all over. I had sinus surgery a couple years ago and they found a cyst there as well. Plus I have PCOS (polycystic ovary syndrome) so I have cysts on my ovaries... I wonder how many other cysts are in my body that haven't been found yet? I'm actually not all that worried about this cyst at the moment. But I think I'll start taking my anxiety pills again just to prevent it from becoming a problem.

At least the fact that all they found was a cyst indicates my symptoms aren't MS. So that's a good thing. But I still don't know what's causing them. Of course maybe the CT scan will indicate the cyst is causing them. Who knows? I don't like not knowing. I don't really do all that well with uncertainty. I do a lot better now than I used to but still not that great.

Anyway, now that I've got that out, tonight I have a lot of stuff to do around the house. I have to do dishes, type up some notes from the last couple CSA meetings, make a cake, and do some laundry. Tomorrow I have to make an entree, go to a CSA meeting, go grocery shopping, mow the lawn, make another cake, finish the laundry, clean the house, and anything else I think of...

Luckily I have the entire weekend off so I can rest on Sunday. Yay!

Anyway, guess that's all for now.

Question for the day: Would you tell your spouse/parent/partner right away if a tumor was found in your brain? Or would you wait for the tests to be concluded, when you had answers as to what was going to happen?

What I'm reading: Damia by Anne McCaffrey
What I'm recording tonight: Ghost Whisperer, Raines, and Painkiller Jane
Next DVD on my stack to watch: Andromeda Season 2 disc 1
What's in my playstation: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (still)

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Not Much

Not much to say today. I've been having a lot of muscle weakness and fatigue and headaches lately. Went to the neurologist on Monday and now tomorrow I get to go have a Nerve Conduction Study done on my legs. If you've ever had one you know they are not fun! I had one done on my arms a couple months ago...It wasn't horrible but it wasn't all pleasant either...

So anyway I have the nerve conduction study tomorrow and then an MRI on Monday. We'll see what the results are. I'm just tired of being tired all the time. And the headaches can go away anytime now!

Did get some good news today though! In Nov of 2005 my Dad was admitted to the hospital because of his heart. At the time it was only pumping at 15% strength. Well today he went to the cardiologist and had some tests and it is now pumping at 63%. Yay!! They even decided to do away with one of his pills. So things are looking good there!

No question today. I'm too tired to think of one.

Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Keeping up with friends

It kinda sad that sometimes the only way I get to keep up with my friend's lives is to read their blogs... Either that or we only get to communicate by email. I added a link to my friend Rhonda's blog (HI Rhonda!). It seems between the two of us we are always working or busy. We almost never get to talk on the phone or in person anymore. It's all about email!

What kind of comment is that on our lives? So Sad!

Anyway, yesterday I had a monster headache so I didn't come in to work until half way through the day. When I got here I discovered I have a project due Thursday and we were only told about it yesterday...Nice , huh? So today my group (3 of us) had a meeting and divided out the work. But then one person went home sick. So we have no clue how far he got with his portion. Hopefully, he'll be back tomorrow and he will have a chance to finish his portion. Otherwise we will have to divy his section between the remaining 2 of us. Don't you just love deadlines? I actually managed the first draft of my portion so I just have to wait for tomorrow's meeting to see if it needs edited... In the meantime I have a ton of other things (also with deadlines) that I have to get done. But am I doing them? Of course not! I'm posting a blog darn it!

I asked my Doctor's office for copies of a couple things today. They didn't want to give them to me. Which I think is stupid. They're my records, I have the right to see them when I want to. They finally agreed. I just have to go in and sign something and then they'll make copies and give them to me... I have an appointment next week with a Dr that my Dr referred me to. In my experience even if my Dr did her duty and faxed over the referral and any test results it always takes the other Dr forever to find them. So I thought it would be easier if I had copies of those things when I went...Stupid me!

Ok, I guess I should do some actual work type stuff so that's it for today...

Today's question: Pistachios or Sunflower Seeds?

Saturday, April 7, 2007

Pictures of Bogie

These are some pictures of Bogie:






Working from home

OK, so here's a question for you. Is working from home really a good thing? One of the women in my department works from her home. Another left my company to work for another out of her home. It would be kinda cool to be able to stay at home all day. I'm sure my dog would like it. But I'm not sure I have the will power to actually make myself go in to "the office" each day. If I have to leave the house then I can make myself get going. But when you stay home? I don't think so.

Not only that, but when you work from home, some jobs still have set hours. My dream schedule would probably be 3p-7p and then 9p-1a. That would probably work for me if the company didn't care about your hours as long as you got in 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week. But if I have to work certain hours I'd almost rather have to go elsewhere and be able to see other people. I don't know. Maybe one of these days that's something I'll explore.

Today's question: Would you be able to work at home?

Thursday, April 5, 2007

My first post

OK, so this is my first blog. Here goes:

I work with tax and accouting software, and since this is tax season I get to work a lot. Luckily I don't have too much longer to go before tax season is over. Hopefully I'll get at least a couple full weekends off.

In March 2006 I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Celiac Disease is a genetic autoimmune disorder. Whenever someone with Celiac ingests (eats or drinks) anything containing gluten our immune system starts attacking our intestines. Kinda like an allergy but worse. For more info about the disease visit the national Celiac Sprue Association Website at http://www.csaceliacs.org/

Since I am limited in what I eat, I have cooked more in the last year than I have the entire rest of my life. And I don't like to cook! But oh well. Such is life. I might occasionally post recipes...

I have a longhair chihuahua named Bogie. He's kinda crazy in his own little way. Of course that makes him fit right in with my family so that's ok.

OK, so that's a basic description of my life. Work, cook and eat, sleep, play with dog. I also love to read, watch TV and play games on the computer and my Playstation 2.

Now, on with the blog. I read this quote a couple months ago and it is now my favorite:

Today's mighty oak is just yesterday's nut that stood it's ground.

How cool is that? I have no clue who said it, but I love it!

I am currently reading a book called Nightlife by Elizabeth Guest. I'm not quite sure about it yet. It's ok but it's not really drawing me in. I'm sure I'll finish it but I don't know that I'll ever read it again.

I have a question for you. Is it wrong to like all kinds of music? I really do like pretty much any kind of music. The only things I don't really like is heavy rap. But I've found that even some of those songs I like. My iPod shuffle, really is a shuffle. It's kinda cool actually. I get to listen to it at work. One minute I'm listening to Jordan Pruit and the next I'm listening to the song Purple People Eater. Or The Wilkinsons switches to a song from the musical Spring Awakening (check out this soundtrack if you've never heard of it. It's pretty cool). I even have some classical songs on there. Makes my day kinda interesting.

I'm hoping to get another dog this summer. Sometime between July and September. Bogie needs a buddy and I want a puppy. I'm hoping to get a Cavalier King Charles. They are so cute and they only grow to about twice Bogie's size so he should be ok with it. Here's a link to the American Cavalier King Charles club website: http://www.ackcsc.org/ They look a lot like a cocker spaniel but they are about half the size.

I guess that's it for today. Type to ya next time!

Today's question: What is your favorite saying (or quote) and why?